#Microblog Mondays: The Fault In Our Stars

9

March 16, 2015 by positivelypeachie

The Fault in Our Stars: have you seen this movie?

Let me start off by saying I can count the number of movies that actually made tears come out of my eyes on one hand. I’m just not a crier. I, absolutely, will feel terrible or have a lump in my throat and sometimes my eyes well up – but to actually draw tears from me it has to be something really sad.

I think Pearl Harbour, Titanic and probably Warhorse are the only movies that made me actually cry. Nothing has ever made me sob – except one movie: The Fault In Our Stars (discovered Saturday night).

I’ve read the book, so I know what’s going to happen, and yet somehow the movie had me completely sobbing. Not just crying, but ugly cry sobbing. My heart felt like it was being ripped in two. Ugh, so, so sad.

Maybe it’s because part of it is kind of close to home. On Tuesday, my nephews swim instructor (and his school teachers daughter) was diagnosed with Osteosarcoma. Now, I don’t know Emma well, but I was and am so very sad to hear this news. My nephew, being a friend of Emma’s and knowing her for as long as he has, was upset. My sister believes in honesty, so she explained it to him in the most age appropriate way. The next day when I took him to swim class he had lots of facts he was telling me and questions. I get the feeling he was bouncing it off of me to see how I reacted, so he could gauge how serious it is. I didn’t bring it up, but as soon as he got into the car he started talking about it.

“Emma has cancer. Lots of people die from cancer. She is going to get medicine to help her but it will make her feel yucky. Mommy said that sometimes even babies get cancer.”

Nowhere in his musings did he connect that Emma may die from cancer…and I am thankful for that. It’s a tough enough topic to handle at 6, I didn’t want him to connect those two because I don’t know if he is ready to process something like that yet. I am just hoping and praying that they can treat it, and she survives. She is a lovely girl and has a lot to offer the world…but then, don’t they all?

9 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: The Fault In Our Stars

  1. mlong3019 says:

    That book and movie make me cry every time! They are wonderful but gut wrenching too. I’m so sorry to hear about Emma, I’ll be praying for her!

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear that! May she recover soon!

    Like

  3. Moira says:

    This book and movie got me too. I was crying to the point of having to pause the movie! They really do make you think about life and love, and just being present. Prayers for little Emma, its something no 6 year old should need to understand.

    Like

  4. Caroline says:

    Yes, I saw it – a little too soon after my nephew passed away from cancer. Made me so sad 😦 So sad to hear bout Emma!

    Like

  5. Mel says:

    I am so sorry to hear about his instructor.

    You know, I’ve avoided the movie because the book was so hard to read. I cried so hard reading it that I gave myself a headache.

    Like

  6. Jess says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your nephew’s instructor, both for her sake and for the loss of innocence for your nephew, if he does connect that Emma could die from her cancer. I read the book and saw the movie, and it’s a crier for sure. I felt like I cried hardest not at the loss itself but the reaction to the loss (trying not to have spoilers). They did a really, really good job of showing that gut-wrenching cry and devastation from losing someone you love. It gets me every time.

    Like

  7. Sara-Lynn says:

    I definitely cried too, and the movie stuck in my head for days after. Though it was just fiction, there was something so real about it, and it brought to light that none of us are exempt from life’s tragedies.

    Like

  8. middlegirl54 says:

    My thoughts with your family and Emma’s as you all struggle with the news and with her challenges to come.

    So much drives me to tears these days. Still, I will likely read the book and see the movie–someday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

becklist

single mom + baby take on the world

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Our journey to a baby bump...

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

