Book Review x2

Leave a comment

April 2, 2015 by positivelypeachie

And The Mountains Echoed – by Khaled Hosseini 

download (1)

Oh…what to say about this book. Am I glad I read it? Yes. Did I completely understand it? No. It was confusing, but yet had nice flow. It was a story, retold from all the different characters perspectives at different times in their lives – and yet linking together. At many points I struggled to remember who this person had been to the initial story and I can’t really remember what the many versions of the story were. It was absolutely interesting, and I recommend it – not because I particularly enjoyed it but because it’s interesting and written in a unique way and I am curious to see what others think of it. I’m not really a fan of short stories, so this one is a nice compromise – a series of short stories linked to the same plot. Not a bad read, not great, but definitely worth the time.

The Birth House – Ami McKay

I really enjodownloadyed this book! I was told that it was really sad – but I did not find that at all! I found it charming and challenging, sweet and sour, interesting and easy to read. It was everything I like in a book. It kept me turning the page, had the right amount of sadness, and was educational as well. The author is very talented, and wrote the book in a way that makes you feel like you are the character. It also gives you a glimpse into life as a woman in an even more male driven world – and will absolutely infuriate you at times with the way “Dr. Thomas” sums up pregnancy and birth. Truly a good read, and really makes you think and feel. I highly recommend it!

»

Leave a Reply

becklist

single mom + baby take on the world

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Our journey to a baby bump...

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

