Books That Change Your Life

2

April 26, 2015 by positivelypeachie

 
 This book is a story of an autistic, non verbal boy – his family and how they learn to go on after the unthinkable happens. It parallels with a story of a woman and her children learning to find their footing after learning her husband has cheated on her. It’s really an amazing book. My cousin is autistic and is verbal, but only at a 4 year old level. It gave an amazing insight into some of his experiences that I would never have understood on my own. And, while I have know way of knowing if these experiences are correctly documented, they certainly make sense. Beautiful, sad and tantalizingly hopeful.
 
Anyone in any kind of relationship should read this. I can’t put into words how deeply this book effected me. Although my marriage is very good right now – there have been some dark moments where I considered giving up. I think being infertile has led me to jump to an easy out when things get tough – let him go and find someone who can have kids because it’s just easier that way and he deserves it.

This book isn’t about infertility, it’s about marriage and learning how to chose love even when things are really bad. I loved it. I came out of it realizing how very lucky I am to have such an amazing husband and how just because you CAN live without each other doesn’t mean you should. Anyone can live without someone – that’s what tragedy has taught us. But it doesn’t mean you should and it should never be a marker of whether or not to be together. 

Ahh this book – It really spoke to me. Maybe because we are so happy right now, so I was able to get more from it but it has really changed my outlook on marriage as a whole. Please – if you have a relationship that has struggled or is struggling, consider reading this with an open heart. Such a good and easy read!

2 thoughts on “Books That Change Your Life

  1. Haidee says:

    I will be adding these two books to my list of books to read, especially the second one. I look forward to reading it!

    Like

  2. Alissa S says:

    Thanks for the suggestions. I work with the Autistic and developmentally disabled so I am always open to reading new literature. My nephew has delays and speech issues at 5, so we are waiting to see if an Autism diagnosis will come about this year…
    The other book about marriage sounds like a good read for any married couple. I’ll check it out when my list is a bit shorter! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

our journey to a baby bump

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

Awaiting Autumn

A journey through infertility & into motherhood

