Snakes on a …dog?

6

April 28, 2015 by positivelypeachie

I don’t know if you have garter snakes where you live – but here in Canada they are a big thing. They’re completely harmless…they bite, but they aren’t toxic and they just eat pests. They’re actually a help because they keep the rodent population at bay….but I still hate them.

A couple weeks ago I discovered we had a nest (shiver) in our front yard under the old well tile. Yesterday, hubby discovered we had a second nest at the side of our property in a tree stump. I don’t know how to get rid of them. I don’t really want to kill them, but I do want them gone. I wouldn’t mind one or two to keep the rodent population down but I am not a fan of this mass of slivering horror in my yard. Ok, you can’t actually see them because they’re hiding but still, I imagine they’re a mass of slivering horror. I’ve been googling like crazy and have decided to just call an exterminator because I just don’t know how to get rid of them. The dogs are terrified of them, so they won’t even help get rid of them. What eats snakes? Crocodiles? I’ll get a crocodile if it will get rid of the damn snakes.

Last night Chops came inside around 10:30 pm after playing outside for a while. She came over to me to cuddle and then all of a sudden it hit me like a brick wall – stank from the pits of hell. Nothing I had ever smelled before but hubby walked in, took one whiff, and knew…

Are you ready for this?

Garter snakes have a smell. (What?? Been around them my whole life and NEVER knew this). Apparently they emit an oil on their skin when in danger that has a musky stank to ward of predators. Except dogs love musky stank, so she just continued to chow down and got the oil all over her face and chest. Then came inside and wanted to cuddle … gag.

We tried to wipe her off with wipes (tip of the day – the oil is a bright yellow) – but we just couldn’t get it all gone so there we were bathing a pathetic looking labradoodle way past all of our bedtimes. Afterwards she smelled much better but not completely fresh so we made her sleep in the living room (the cruelty). Thankfully this morning the smell was gone but now I don’t want to let her outside until the snakes are gone.

Anyone have a crocodile I can borrow?

6 thoughts on “Snakes on a …dog?

  1. Brianna says:

    I have to be honest, I gagged while reading this. I hate snakes. I know they have their place in the ecosystem and they do great things to keep things in balance, but they can stay as far away from me as possible. I would be calling to get someone out there ASAP to get rid of those snakes and wouldn’t feel safe even leaving my own house. Ick!

    Like

  2. mlong3019 says:

    OMG I’m shivering and shying away from the computer at the mere thought of this. I can’t wait snakes, I really just can’t. We had one in our yard once and I truly lost my mind about it.

    Like

  3. Alissa S says:

    I too am super grossed out and freaked out by snakes. There is something wrong with something that has no legs to move and eats things whole. (GAG) I could NOT handle having nests on my property, no way. I might actually pee my pants and cry if I ran across a pile of snakes. Top priority for sure – get them gone.

    Like

  4. Haidee says:

    Ugh! So glad I live in NZ where there are zero snakes! Yuck yuck yuck! Good luck getting rid of them!

    Like

  5. JustHeather says:

    Hahah, you’re the 2nd person this week to talk about garter snakes. My brother and I would collect them in a dog biscuit box from our aunts yard and take them home to our own. LOL. We never did it enough to make much difference, but it kept us busy.
    I did/do know they smell/stink. Thankfully I’ve only had it on my hands, as a kid.

    I hope you get rid of the lairs of snakes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

our journey to a baby bump

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

Awaiting Autumn

A journey through infertility & into motherhood

