Literature and 12 Years a Slave

Leave a comment

May 13, 2015 by positivelypeachie

Ok I think it’s time to do a book catch up because I’ve been reading like a crazy person.

untitled1

This was a tough read – it was fantastically written, but emotionally packed and I had to take frequent breaks because so much bothered me in it. Not the writing style, but the cruelties – the things that were done to people will take your breath away. If you haven’t read this: please do. I am recommending this book to every man, woman and child I come across – regardless of their ethnicity, age or current beliefs on racism. Times like this in our history, where extreme and widespread cruelties were amassed on individuals because of a stereotype need to be remembered and taught to our children so they can do their best to prevent this happening again. Reading this book I felt guilty for being white, because I thought – somewhere, somehow, I was most likely the descendant of someone who played some part in the slave trade or segregation. While I would never judge someone based solely on their skin colour or language or clothing preferences or sexual orientation – and I would certainly never hurt them – I still can’t quite shake the feeling of guilt. That’s probably a good thing, because it resonates deeply with me and it has impacted my life. If you haven’t read it, please read it. It’s important to be aware of what did happen, and what is still happening so we can break this cycle.

51IB8yjROpL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_I read this one on the recommendation of the coworker who lent me Love Anthony. I didn’t find it as addicting or action packed as Love Anthony was, but I was definitely interested in it. It was much slower and easier pace to read but much more surprising to me than Love Anthony. I had no idea that anything like Left Neglected existed and I can’t even fathom how someone would get over something when they can’t even tell they have it. Over all not a bad read and I am going to read her third book and her first one (Still Alice) – but I feel like this one was a rushed book she pumped out to meet a deadline.

untitled

Super easy read. I read it in a day and a half – it just flies by. It’s sad and yet profound. I didn’t find it to be great, but it’s definitely good and I would recommend it. There is a sequel which I plan to read, because I found this one left me wanting more.

cover326x326

Have you seen this movie? I hadn’t, although I’d heard about it because it won some awards and the actress was on Ellen. It was filed in the back of my mind as one I need to watch, but I hadn’t come across it yet. Until last night – I was sitting at home after doing the dishes and looking for a way to pass the time while I worked on a blanket I was making when I found it on Netflix and started watching. Oh. My. God guys. Prepare to have your heart broken while watching these human beings be abused and mistreated in ways that would break me in a millisecond- far and above any movie I have ever seen displaying it. It was very profound. The story was so sad, and a true story, and although it ended on a happy note it was laced with the sadness of injustice. I am so glad I watched it even though I normally won’t watch movies with suffering in them and  I definitely looked away more than once. Everyone should watch it and remember how lucky we are and how important kindness is.   

Leave a Reply

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

our journey to a baby bump & beyond

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

