Who Made You Love to Read?

1

June 3, 2015 by positivelypeachie

I started reading because I come from a long line of chronic readers. My mom used to power through a novel every couple days – so did all of my aunts, most of my cousins, and even my grandpa could be found with his nose in a book most days. We read – that’s just what we do so its no surprise that my sisters and I are book worms.

But that’s not what made me love reading.

I love reading because I found a book that came alive when I read it. The writing style was so unique, unlike anything I had ever read, and the words seem to dance on the page. The way the story was written made the characters come alive in my mind, and filled me with a taste of how wonderful and almost spiritual reading can be.

Surprisingly (or perhaps not), that author is John Irving. I read “A Prayer For Owen Meany” for a high school project and I was addicted to Irving’s style. He created characters that I could actually see with voices I could actually hear. From there I read almost all of his books – and even though I didn’t always love the story, I was addicted to the way he writes. Whenever I want a slice of my past, or of comfort, I dig out a John Irving book.

Reading Irving opened the door to a plethora of different authors that I now read, and taught me that sometimes the less popular books can be the best. I love Harry Potter, but I also loved The Thirteenth Tale or The Birth House or The Hotel New Hampshire. Now I can be found, most of the time, with a book tucked into my bag or under my nose. I keep a stash of books at work incase I have a lunch break where I have time to read a bit and I read every night before bed…It’s probably an addiction, but I’m ok with that. There are certainly worse things to be addicted to! 🙂

What made you start reading? Do you remember who or what it was that started your book loving addiction?

One thought on “Who Made You Love to Read?

  1. Persnickety says:

    Lack of other entertainment was the initial trigger- my mum taught me to read at 3- because there was no TV available for my age and language and she had a one year old and another on the way.
    I was hooked by so many books- the little house books, Betsy-tacy, swallows and amazons. But my first read as much as possible was probably Enid blyton!

    Like

Leave a Reply

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

our journey to a baby bump & beyond

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

