#microblogmondays The Childless Aunt

6

June 8, 2015 by positivelypeachie

I recently read this on FB http://m.huffpost.com/ca/entry/7490088 … And I loved it. Not because I don’t think other types of aunts/uncles are awesome, but because this is my life right now so I can really identify with it and it’s nice to hear (even if not from my own sisters) how important of a roll I play in their lives – especially right now when I have my nephew 5 out of 7 days a week to help with daycare hours and I’m mostly just exhausted.

It’s really worth a read, especially if you’re a aunt who is able to be actively involved in our nieces or nephews lives. (I know sometimes distance provides a barrier)

Read more at Mel’s inaugural post.

6 thoughts on “#microblogmondays The Childless Aunt

  1. I always said that aunties can be very important, how important is really up to them 🙂 I’m happy you found happiness in this, and thanks for showing the article I’m still looking for things that could cheer up some of our patients/clients at http://www.eggdonationfriends.com, check out our website if you have the time! Best wishes!

    Like

  2. Mel says:

    We love all the aunts and uncles, but you’re right, there is something special about my brother who is currently without kids. He shapes their life in an enormous way, and I often hear his disembodied voice coming through FaceTime in my daughter’s room. I think she calls or texts him almost every day, and he comes a lot for visits.

    Like

    • I agree – all aunts and uncles are wonderful. But there’s something really special about being able to be JUST an aunt (not an aunt and mother) and therefore being able to provide a very special relationship with my nephews. I do still hope one day it will change, but for now I’m enjoying that it is the way it is.

      Like

  3. Savannah says:

    I loved that article, thank you for sharing it. I’m just jealous that another mom said it. I would love to get this kind of acknowledgement. Trust me, I spoil the nephews rotten.

    Like

  4. Mali says:

    Great article. I’m not close (geographically) to my nieces and nephews, but I adore seeing them, and they know they have a special relationship with me. Aunts and Uncles with kids are first and foremost focused on their kids. They don’t necessarily want to focus on other kids as well. Those of us without kids do! Though Savannah is right – sometimes it would be nice to get acknowledgement from the parents. (To be fair, sometimes I do.)

    Like

  5. I don’t get enough time with my niece to be honest but I cherish the time that I do get. It is lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

becklist

single mom + baby take on the world

28 and Counting...

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. -Mary Oliver

Hands Free Mama

Letting Go...To Grasp What Really Matters

Auj Poj

Auj Poj | A hodgepodge of stories, perspective, inspiration, enchantment, passion, style, recipes, handmades, and adventures.

The Barren Librarian

Books Make Having a Baby Seem So Easy....

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

You've been Sass'd!

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Happily Her

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Chasing Dreams & Catching Life

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

cornflake dreams.

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Farm to Fête Home

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

the "florkens"

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Our journey to a baby bump...

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

Two Hearts and One Dream

Life, Laughter, Love and Everything Inbetween!

